Press Archives

Zumtobel Group Award 2017: Jury for Zumtobel Group’s architecture award appointed
  • Public call for submissions open until 15 January 2017
  • Jury appointed: prominent international line-up

Dornbirn, Austria – The public call for submissions for the 2017 edition of the Zumtobel Group Award – Innovations for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment is open for current projects to be submitted until 15 January 2017. The international architecture award aims to promote pioneering concepts and developments leading to greater humanity and sustainability in the built environment and the way it is designed.

Submissions for the Zumtobel Group Award are invited in three categories: Applied Innovations, Buildings, and Urban Developments & Initiatives. A first-line jury will select 15 projects in each category from among the submissions. Then, in early June 2017, the jury will nominate five projects per category and select a category winner from among these five.

“We are delighted to have once again succeeded in attracting an international line-up of very exciting leading figures with expertise in the fields of design, society, the arts and technology," said the curators Dr.h.c. Kristin Feireiss and Hans-Jürgen Commerell from Aedes Architecture Forum, Berlin. For the second time in succession, Zumtobel Group CEO Ulrich Schumacher will also join the jury.

In alphabetical order, the 2017 jury will be:

Klaus Daniels, Engineer, HL-Technik, Munich, Germany
Elizabeth Diller, Architect, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, USA
Elgar Fleisch, Professor of Information Management, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Holger Hagge, Architect & Economist, Bad Homburg v.d. Höhe, Germany
Francine Houben, Mecanoo Architects, Rotterdam, Netherlands
Zhang Ke, ZAO/standardarchitecture, Beijing, China
Julia Peyton-Jones, Curator, London, UK
Ulrich Schumacher, CEO Zumtobel Group, Dornbirn, Austria
Kjetil Trædal Thorsen, Snøhetta Architects, Oslo, Norway

For the first time, the 2017 Award will also include a special award for Young Professionals. Projects from all three categories qualify for this special award if the persons submitting the project are under 40 years of age on 15 January 2017. In the Applied Innovations category, the key focus this time is on the topics of the Internet of Things and connectivity.

Media contacts

Zumtobel Group
Simone Deitmer
Head of Corporate Communications
Tel. +43-(0)5572 509-575

AEDES Architekturforum Berlin
Dr. h.c. Kristin Feireiss | Hans-Jürgen Commerell
Tel. +49 (30) 282-70 15

pag_text_image - 0 10489

share it


Zur Download-Liste hinzufügen